top of page

The Aftermath of Maria - Day 13

It’s Tuesday, October 3rd. There’s no power and our water comes and goes. The cell signal works about 30% of the time.

Jason and Pierre left around 4:30am to get in the bank line.

line at the bank

The line stretched the entire length of the mall.

After hours of Sudoku and listening to music and waiting, I receive a text message from Jason stating he has cash, thyroid meds, AND a new health certificate. All missions accomplished! I breathe a HUGE sigh of relief. I then take ten minutes to appreciate that I just got a text message. Jason later shows me the numerous failed texts on his phone before one finally got through.

Jason and Pierre return in the afternoon. They stood in the bank line for 6 HOURS to get cash. We decide to splurge and go to Burger King for dinner. (Pause to repeat that last sentence. Add to list of things I never thought I would say.) The line was outrageously long. We can drive more now since our missions are all done and we have enough gas to last until Saturday.

Our water went down to a dribble tonight. Luis looked worried but we figure it will be back in the morning.

bottom of page