top of page

Hurricane Maria Blows

Jason, Lucy, and I arrived in Dallas Saturday night, October 7th. We are staying with my dad until we figure out our next steps.

Today I feel an overwhelming sense of calm. For the first time in over a month, we can relax and know that everything is good. We are safe, we are fed, we have all the luxuries back - like phones and first responders and central air and amazon and the freedom to drive without worrying about finding fuel and so many more. What little we own is back in PR. We don’t know if we will be able to return to live in our home. We don’t know where our next home will be. We don’t know how we’ll get our car back. We don’t know how much we’ll lose financially. We don’t know if our medical insurance is valid in the states. Here’s what we do know. We are good. We have an amazing support network. We will have everything we need. And we know how incredibly fortunate we are. So many unknowns, and I’m comfortable with them. I seized the opportunity to take back my physical health in Puerto Rico, but I had no idea I was gaining so much ground on the emotional side as well. My anxiety has been present (who in the world wouldn’t be nervous on an island as a category 5 hurricane approached?) but it has been minimal. My OCD doesn’t seem to mind all of the chaos. My patience has not run short. And so I will work for the victims of Maria. I will use my voice to speak for those who are still disconnected from the world. And my voice will unite with those who are on the island and have found a way to, finally, at long last, cry out for help. And together, we will find a way. 🇵🇷

bottom of page